Alternative Nobel honors activists from Somalia, Uganda, Ukraine and Venezuela


Activists and institutions from Somalia, Uganda, Ukraine and Venezuela were today awarded the Right Livelihood Prize, known as an alternative Nobel and which supports “courageous people” who solve global problems.

The awards were given to two Somali human rights activists, Fartuun Adan and Ilwad Elman, for “promoting peace, demilitarization and human rights” in that country, against “terrorism and gender-based violence”, explains the organization of the award in a statement released today.

According to the same source, the human rights defender, the Ukrainian Oleksandra Matviichuk, and the Center for Civil Liberties (CCL), which she directs, were awarded today for “building sustainable democratic institutions in Ukraine and creating a process for accountability”. international law for war crimes”.

The award was also given to the Central de Cooperativas de Lara, Cecosesola, a network of Venezuelan community cooperatives that provide affordable goods and services throughout the country.

The award given to this institution was justified by the international jury with the establishment of “an equitable and cooperative economic model as a robust alternative to profit-oriented economies”.

Finally, the Ugandan environmental organization African Institute for Energy Governance was awarded “for its courageous work for climate justice and community rights violated by energy extraction projects in Uganda”.

Awards for those who find solutions

Created in 1980 by Estonian biologist Jakob Von Uexküll (1864-1944), the prize is awarded annually in the Swedish Parliament, normally on 9 December, to honor and support people who “work on finding and applying solutions to the most urgent and necessary changes”. needed in today's world”.

An international jury decides the prize in areas such as Environmental Protection, Human Rights, Sustainable Development, Health, Education or Peace and the winners, usually four a year, share a total of around 185 thousand euros.

So far, 190 names have been awarded, from 74 countries, including Edward Snowden (United States of America), Denis Mukwege (Democratic Republic of Congo) and Greta Thunberg (Sweden).

News by the Minute

Post a Comment